Dave Koz - The Dance

Live at the blue note

Released Date: September 16, 1999

Label: Capitol Records

Firmly believing that each of his recordings should be a musical reflection of the ebbing and flowing of his life, Dave celebrated the return from a four year stint living in Northern California to his hometown roots in Los Angeles with the jubilant and life affirming excitement of his fifth Capitol release, The Dance. Aside from reuniting him with some of the producers who worked on his debut ten years earlier - Jeff Lorber, Carl Sturken, Evan Rogers and his brother Jeff - The Dance is a true testament to the art of collaboration. The album remains a testimony to Dave's enduring philosophy; "The loneliest thing in the world is creating music by myself in a room." With The Dance, he surrounds himself with some of pop, R&B, gospel and smooth jazz's greatest performers, who also happen to be personal heroes, and the result is a compelling and innovative work that remains one of Dave's best recordings.

Artist Credit
Gloria Agustus Vocals (Background)
Marc Antione Spanish Guitar
Marc Antoine Primary Artist, Spanish Guitar
Tony Arata Composer
Burt Bacharach Arranger, Composer, Guest Artist, Piano, Primary Artist, Producer
Glen Ballard Guest Artist, Keyboards, Piano, Producer, Programming
Craig Bauer Mixing
David Benoit Conductor, Guest Artist, Piano, String Arrangements, String Conductor
Wayne Bergeron Flugelhorn, Trumpet
Chris Botti Guest Artist, Performer, Primary Artist, Trumpet, Trumpet (Muted)
Terry Bradford Vocals (Background)
Greg Burns Engineer
Jonathan Butler Guitar (Acoustic), Performer, Primary Artist, Vocals
Scott Campbell Engineer
Bryan Carrigan Engineer
Sue Ann Carwell Vocals (Background)
Lenny Castro Percussion
Anne Catalino Engineer
Matt Chamberlain Drums
Garron Chang Sample Loops, Sampling
Ceinwyn Clark Production Coordination
Vinnie Colaiuta Drums
Brad Cole Arranger, Engineer, Keyboards, Producer
Luis Conte Latin Percussion, Percussion
Schappell Crawford Arranger, Fender Rhodes, Keyboards, Producer
Shapelle Crawford Arranger, Fender Rhodes, Keyboards, Producer
Brian Culbertson Arranger, Bass, Drum Programming, Keyboards
Paulinho Da Costa Percussion
Hal Davis Composer
Kevin Dean Engineer
Bill Deitzman Engineer
Bruce Dukov Concert Master
Nathan East Bass
Nick Els Engineer
Skip Ewing Composer
Ethan Farmer Bass
Steve Ferrone Drums
Jeffery Fey Art Direction, Design
Tony Flores Assistant Engineer
Clark Germain Engineer
Berry Gordy, Jr. Composer
Ken Gruberman Contractor
Kevin Guarnieri Engineer
Shanti Haast Engineer
Steve Hall Mastering
Dan Hart Engineer
Daniel Hart Engineer
Kathy Hazzard Vocals (Background)
Al Hemberger Engineer
Willie Hutch Composer
Paul Jackson, Jr. Guitar (Electric)
George A. Johnson, Jr. Drums
Sam Jones Photography
Shae Jones Vocals (Background)
Montell Jordan Arranger, Drum Programming, Guest Artist, Performer, Primary Artist, Producer, Vocals, Vocals (Background)
Aaron Kaplan Engineer
Randy Kerber Fender Rhodes, Piano
Brian Kigore Percussion
Brian Kilgore Percussion
Eddie King Engineer
Audrey Koz Unknown Contributor Role, Vibe Coordinator, Vibe Master
Dave Koz Arranger, Composer, Effects, Keyboards, Liner Notes, Multi Instruments, Percussion, Primary Artist, Producer, Sax (Alto), Sax (Baritone), Sax (Soprano), Sax (Tenor), Sax Effects, Saxophone, Sound Effects
Jeff Koz Arranger, Bass, Composer, Drum Programming, Engineer, Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar (Nylon String), Keyboards, Producer, Soloist, Special Effects, Vocal Arrangement, Vocals (Background)
Michael Landau Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar (Electric), Guitar (Nylon String), Soloist
Nick Lane Trombone
Ricky Lawson Drums
Jolie Levine-Aller Production Coordination
Marc Levisohn Engineer
Robert Lopez Engineer
Jeff Lorber Arranger, Bass, Composer, Drum Programming, Engineer, Guest Artist, Keyboards, Producer, Programming
Roy Lott Executive Producer
Tony Maiden Wah Wah Bass, Wah Wah Guitar
Al McKay Guitar (Electric)
Alan Meyerson Mixing
George Michael Composer, Original Album Producer, Original Recording Producer, Producer
Ed Miller Engineer
Janet Mims Vocals (Background)
Cindy Mizelle Vocals (Background)
Peter Mokran Mixing
Gus Mossler Engineer
Pablo Munguia Engineer
Rob Murphy Engineer
Frank Nadasdy Engineer
John Nelson Assistant Engineer
Rick Nelson Vocals (Background)
Rick Nelson Vocals (Background)
NUA All-Stars Inspiration, Saxophone
Kevin Owens Vocals
Kevin Owens Group Member
Timothy Owens Vocals (Background)
Kevin Ownes Vocals
Valerie Pack Producer, Project Coordinator
Dean Parks Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar (Electric)
Frankie Payne Groomer
John Pena Bass, Bass (Electric)
Greg Phillinganes Keyboards
Mark Portmann Keyboards
Doug Rider Engineer
Andrew Ridgeley Composer
John "J.R." Robinson Drums
Evan Rogers Arranger, Composer, Group Member, Producer, Vocals, Vocals (Background)
Wes Seidman Assistant Engineer
Jeffrey Shannon Engineer
Bill Sharpe Bass (Electric)
Bill "The Rubberband Man" Sharpe Bass (Electric)
Allen Sides Engineer, String Engineer
Alfie Silas Vocals (Background)
Timothy Steele Art Direction
Tommy Steele Art Direction
Jackie Simley Stevens Vocals (Background)
Carl Struken Producer
Neil Stubenhaus Bass
Carl Sturken Arranger, Bass, Composer, Drum Programming, Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar (Electric), Keyboards, Producer
Tom Sweeney Engineer
David Porter Thomas Vocals (Background)
Michael Thompson Effects, Guitar, Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar (Electric), Guitar (Nylon String), Special Effects
Michael Hart Thompson Effects, Guitar (Electric), Guitar (Nylon String)
Dennis Tousana Engineer
John Tyree Engineer
Luther Vandross Arranger, Group Member, Guest Artist, Performer, Primary Artist, Vocal Arrangement, Vocals
Alejandra Vargas Spoken Word
Gabe Veltri Engineer
Adriana Verwey Stylist
John Vigran Engineer
Mervyn Warren Vocal Arrangement, Vocals, Vocals (Background)
Freddie "Ready Freddie" Washington Bass
Bob West Composer
Audrey Wheeler Vocals (Background)
Urs Wiesendanger Keyboards, Percussion, Producer, Programming
Jay Williams Guitar (Acoustic)
BeBe Winans Guest Artist, Performer, Primary Artist, Vocals, Vocals (Background)
Jeffrey "Woody" Woodruff Engineer
Woody Woodruff Engineer
Gota Yashiki Drum Samples

Year Category Peak
Billboard Albums
Year Album Chart Peak
2000 The Dance Heatseekers 12
1999 The Dance Heatseekers 12
1999 The Dance R&B Albums 67
1999 The Dance The Billboard 200 190
1999 The Dance Top Contemporary Jazz Albums 2

Track Listing
Sample Name Time
1 Together Again 4:15
2 I'm Waiting For You 3:19
3 Can't Let You Go (The Sha La Song) (Feat. Luther Vandross) 4:17
4 Careless Whisper (Feat. Montell Jordan) 6:10
5 Love Is On the Way (Feat. Chris Botti) 4:47
6 Know You By Heart 3:39
7 Surrender 4:42
8 You Are Me, I Am You (Feat. Marc Antoine) 4:53
9 The Dance (Feat. BeBe Winans) 5:17
10 Cuban Hideaway 2:14
11 The Bright Side (Feat. Jonathan Butler) 4:42
12 Don't Give Up (Feat. Burt Bacharach) 4:01
13 Right By Your Side 4:06
14 I'll Be There 4:16
summer horns II