Released Date: September 25, 2003

Label: Capitol Records

With Saxophonic, Dave created the most adventurous and sax-intensive recording of his career - a scintillating fusion of R&B, funk, jazz and pop, with well-conceived detours into hip hop instrumentalism, bebop, electronica and African folk. The album is comprised of entirely original material and co-produced by Dave and his longtime touring companion Brian Culbertson. Coming off the Gold Record success of The Dance, Dave chose to work with many of the same people that have contributed to his successful career. Along with Brian, those people included his brother Jeff, Evan Rogers and Carl Sturken, who co-wrote many of the songs, and Jeff Lorber. Dave said at the time of the albums release; “This record is the musical embodiment of who I am at this juncture and that is all you can ask from a recording experience.”

Artist Credit
Alex Al Bass (Electric)
Louis Alfred III Engineer
Marc Antoine Featured Artist, Guest Artist, Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar (Nylon String), Primary Artist, Soloist
Natasha Bishop Project Coordinator
Chris Botti Featured Artist, Guest Artist, Trumpet
Norman Brown Guest Artist, Guitar, Soloist
Bobby Caldwell Guest Artist, Vocals (Background)
Lenny Castro Percussion
Jeff Chestek Engineer
Brad Cole Arranger, Engineer, Piano
Charles Crawford DJ, Scratching, Turntables
Brian Culbertson Arranger, Composer, Drum Programming, Engineer, Guest Artist, Horn Arrangements, Keyboards, Piano, Producer, Sound Effects, Synthesizer Bass, Trombone, Trumpet
Janice Dela Cruz Handclapping
Andrea Derby Project Coordinator
Nathan East Bass, Bass (Electric)
Mary Fagot Art Direction
Tony Flores Assistant
Lois Gleckman Handclapping
Larry Gold Conductor, String Arrangements
Wendy Goldstein A&R
Steve Hall Mastering
Dan Hart Engineer
Liz Healy Handclapping
Al Hemberger Engineer
Jerry Hey Flugelhorn, Horn Arrangements, Trumpet
Paul Jackson, Jr. Guest Artist, Guitar, Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar Effects
Javier Featured Artist, Guest Artist, Primary Artist, Vocals, Vocals (Background)
Bashiri Johnson African Percussion, Vocal Effect
Gloria Justin Violin
Hyman Katz Handclapping
Audrey Koz Handclapping
Dave Koz Arranger, Composer, Executive Producer, Handclapping, Horn Arrangements, Primary Artist, Producer, Sax (Alto), Sax (Soprano), Sax (Tenor), Sax Effects, Saxophone
Jeff Koz Arranger, Bass, Composer, Drum Programming, Engineer, Guitar, Keyboards, Producer
Emma Kummrow Violin
Jeff Lorber Arranger, Clapping, Clavinet, Composer, Engineer, Guest Artist, Guitar (Electric), Handclapping, Keyboards, Producer, Wurlitzer
Jennie Lorenzo Cello
Tony Maiden Guitar, Guitar (Electric), Wah Wah Guitar
John McGlinchey Assistant
Brian McKnight Composer, Featured Artist, Guest Artist, Piano, Primary Artist, Producer, Vocal Arrangement, Vocals, Vocals (Background)
George Mimnaugh Design
Peter Mokran Mixing
Gary Morris Handclapping
Frank Nadasdy Engineer
Peter Nocella Viola
Gary Novak Drums
Frankie Payne Groomer
Mel Pearlman Clapping
William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach Jr. Trombone
David Rideau Engineer
Doug Rider Engineer
John "J.R." Robinson Drums
Evan Rogers Arranger, Composer, Producer, Vocal Effect, Vocals (Background), Whistle (Human)
Eltie Semotan Photography
Mary Ann Souza Assistant
John Stoddart Vocal Effect, Vocals
Carl Sturken Arranger, Bass, Composer, Drum Programming, Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar (Electric), Keyboards, Producer
Igor Szwec Violin
Michael Hart Thompson E-Bow, Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar (Electric), Guitar (Steel), Guitar (Synthesizer), Guitar Arrangements
Mink Tungwarapotwitan Clapping
Arianne Tunney Stylist
Seth Waldman Assistant
Chris Wood Engineer

Billboard Albums
Year Album Chart Peak
2003 Saxophonic The Billboard 200 129
2004 Saxophonic Top Contemporary Jazz 2
2004 Saxophonic Top Heatseekers 3

Track Listing
Sample Name Time
[sc_embed_player fileurl=""] 1 Honey-Dipped 4:23
[sc_embed_player fileurl=""] 2 Love Changes Everything (feat. Brian McKnight) 3:58
[sc_embed_player fileurl=""] 3 All I See Is You 4:14
[sc_embed_player fileurl=""] 4 Just to Be Next to You 4:54
[sc_embed_player fileurl=""] 5 Let It Free 3:48
[sc_embed_player fileurl=""] 6 Undeniable 4:13
[sc_embed_player fileurl=""] 7 Saxophonic (Come On Up) 5:02
[sc_embed_player fileurl=""] 8 Definition of Beautiful (feat. Javier) 4:56
[sc_embed_player fileurl=""] 9 Sound of the Underground (feat. Chris Botti) 4:05
[sc_embed_player fileurl=""] 10 Only Tomorrow Knows 5:07
[sc_embed_player fileurl=""] 11 I Believe 5:31
[sc_embed_player fileurl=""] 12 A View from Above (feat. Marc Antoine) 4:51
[sc_embed_player fileurl=""] 13 One Last Thing 3:35